Daily Blog July 15, 2011

For the past week I have been giving you the preseason watch lists for the various awards that I am a proud voting member for and with each of these lists I was an integral part in the players that were selected. One of those awards is the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award and today the 2011 Watch List was released.

The O’Brien is presented annually to the nation’s best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The O’Brien honors candidates who exemplify Davey O’Brien’s enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics. The O’Brien is overseen by the Davey O’Brien Foundation, which is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas, and has given away more than $825,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit www.DaveyOBrien.org.

Last year I was honored to help in the voting for the Davey O'Brien player of the week each and every week and we had a special page devoted to the O'Brien Award on the PhilSteele.com site weekly. I do want to give special mention to Danielle Moorman who is the Executive Director of the Davey O'Brien Foundation and does an excellent job with the award.

This year’s list features 38 of the nation’s top collegiate quarterbacks who were selected based on player performance during the previous year and expectations heading into the 2011 college football season.  

2011 Davey O'Brien Watch List

Name Team Conf
Matt Barkley USC Pac-12
Tyler Bray Tennessee SEC
Alex Carder Western Michigan MAC
Zach Collaros Cincinnati Big East
Kirk Cousins Michigan St Big Ten
Dayne Crist Notre Dame Independent
Austin Davis Southern Miss CUSA
Dominique Davis East Carolina CUSA
Nick Foles Arizona Pac-12
Jeff Godfrey UCF CUSA
Robert Griffin III Baylor Big 12
Chandler Harnish Northern Illinois MAC
Jake Heaps BYU Independent
Landry Jones Oklahoma Big 12
Case Keenum Houston CUSA
G.J. Kinne Tulsa CUSA
Ryan Lindley San Diego St MWC
Andrew Luck Stanford Pac-12
EJ Manuel Florida St ACC
Taylor Martinez Nebraska Big Ten
Bryant Moniz Hawaii WAC
Kellen Moore Boise State MWC
Aaron Murray Georgia SEC
Danny O’Brien Maryland ACC
Kyle Padron SMU CUSA
Dan Persa Northwestern Big Ten
Chris Relf Mississippi St SEC
Sean Renfree Duke ACC
Corey Robinson Troy Sun Belt
Denard Robinson Michigan Big Ten
Nathan Scheelhaase Illinois Big Ten
Geno Smith West Virginia Big East
Tino Sunseri Pittsburgh Big East
Ryan Tannehill Texas A&M Big 12
Darron Thomas Oregon Pac-12
Brandon Weeden Oklahoma St Big 12
Russell Wilson Wisconsin Big Ten
Jordan Wynn Utah Pac-12

All 11 conferences and Independents BYU and Notre Dame were represented on the list. The Big Ten and CUSA led the way with each having six players named to the watch list while the Pac-12 (5) and Big 12 (4) were next.

In addition to last season’s finalists, Andrew Luck (Stanford) and Kellen Moore (Boise St) 2009 O’Brien finalist Case Keenum (Houston) is back in action. This year’s list also includes seven 2010 semifinalists: Matt Barkley (USC), Kirk Cousins (Michigan State), Robert Griffin III (Baylor), Landry Jones (Oklahoma), Taylor Martinez (Nebraska), Denard Robinson (Michigan), and Darron Thomas (Oregon).

Appearing on the Watch List is not a requirement for a player to be awarded The O’Brien. Quarterbacks from all 120 FBS schools are eligible for the award until the field is narrowed to 16 semifinalists on Monday, Oct. 24. The Foundation and the Selection Committee will announce three finalists on Monday, Nov. 21 and the 2011 Davey O’Brien winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, Dec. 8.

The 35th Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner will be held Feb. 20, 2012 in Fort Worth, Texas.

Only 48 Days Until the First College Football Game!!