Phil Steele is a proud voter for the Heisman Trophy
Marcus Mariota of Oregon

2014 The Heisman Finalists:
Melvin Gordon, RB, Wisconsin
Amari Cooper, WR, Alabama


The Heisman Trophy was named after former college football player and coach John Heisman, and is awarded annually by the Downtown Athletic Club to the most outstanding player in collegiate football. Although not the only award honoring the best player in college football, it is considered the most prestigious.

It is awarded in early December before the postseason bowl games begin. The trophy does not serve as a representation of a collegiate player’s chances in professional leagues, but is rather an accolade for their accomplishments in college. The trophy itself is modeled after Ed Smith, a leading player in 1934 for the now defunct New York University football team.

The Heisman is frequently awarded to a running back or a quarterback and very few players have won the trophy playing at a different position. Charles Woodson is the only primarily defensive player to win the award, doing so as a defensive back for Michigan in 1997. No interior lineman on either side of the ball has ever won the award, although offensive guard Tom Brown of Minnesota and offensive tackle John Hicks of Ohio State placed second in 1960 and 1973, respectively, and defensive end Hugh Green of Pittsburgh finished second in 1980.


2013 Jameis Winston, Florida St
2012 QB Johnny Manziel FR Texas A&M
2011 QB Robert Griffin III JR Baylor
2010 QB Cam Newton JR Auburn
2009 RB Mark Ingram SO Alabama
2008 QB Sam Bradford SO Oklahoma
2007 QB Tim Tebow SO Florida
2006 QB Troy Smith SR Ohio St
2005 RB Reggie Bush(Vacated) JR USC
2004 QB Matt Leinart JR USC
2003 QB Jason White JR Oklahoma
2002 QB Carson Palmer SR USC
2001 QB Eric Crouch SR Nebraska
2000 QB Chris Weinke SR Florida St
1999 RB Ron Dayne SR Wisconsin


1998 RB Ricky Williams SR Texas
1997 CB Charles Woodson JR Michigan
1996 QB Danny Wuerffel SR Florida
1995 RB Eddie George SR Ohio St
1994 RB Rashaan Salaam JR Colorado
1993 QB Charlie Ward SR Florida St
1992 QB Gino Torretta SR Miami (FL)
1991 WR Desmond Howard JR Michigan
1990 QB Ty Detmer JR BYU
1989 QB Andre Ware JR Houston
1988 RB Barry Sanders JR Oklahoma St
1987 WR Tim Brown SR Notre Dame
1986 QB Vinny Testaverde SR Miami (FL)