Phil Steele is proud to be on the voting Commitee for the Jim Thorpe Award!
Ishmael Adams, UCLA Vernon Hargreaves III, Florida Adrian McDonald, Houston
Mackensie Alexander, Clemson Nate Holley, Kent State Doug Middleton, Appalachian State
Tony Annese, Central Michigan Adoreé Jackson, USC David Mims II, Texas State
Budda Baker, Washington William Jackson, Houston Fabian Moreau, UCLA
Adairius Barnes, Louisiana Tech Randall Jette, Massachusetts Parry Nickerson, Tulane
Dante Barnett, Kansas State Jonathan Jones, Auburn Kevin Peterson, Oklahoma State
Vonn Bell, Ohio State Karl Joseph, West Virginia Jalen Ramsey, Florida State
Quin Blanding, Virginia Damontae Kazee, San Diego State Max Redfield, Notre Dame
Kevin Byard, Middle Tennessee Montres Kitchens, Troy Zack Sanchez, Oklahoma
Michael Caputo, Wisconsin Mitch Lane, ULM Jordan Simone, Arizona State
Jeremy Cash, Duke Richard Leonard, FIU Weston Steelhammer, Air Force
Tony Conner, Ole Miss William Likely, Maryland Darian Thompson, Boise State
Donte Deayon, Boise State Paris Logan, Northern Illinois JJ Whittaker, San Diego State
Kendall Fuller, Virginia Tech Trent Matthews, Colorado State Xavier Woods, Louisiana Tech
Congratulations to the  2014 Jim Thorpe Winner
Gerod Holliman of Louisville
Nation's Outstanding Defensive Back
For more information about this award, please feel free
to visit:
Congratulations To the 2014 Finalists:
Landon Collins, Alabama
Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, Oregon
About the Jim Thorpe Award

The Jim Thorpe Award is one of college football’s most sought after and prestigious awards.  It is named after history’s greatest all-around athlete, a man who excelled as a running back, passer and kicker on offense, but also was an awesome defensive back.  Recognized in the Pro Football Hall of Fame simply as “The Legend”, Thorpe also played professional baseball and won Olympic gold medals in the decathlon and pentathlon.

The candidates for the award are selected by a “screening committee” of Jim Thorpe Association members who follow several players throughout the season, watching games and researching information sources to grade Thorpe Award candidates on the basis of performance on the field, athletic ability and character. The committee then narrows the field three finalists and the names of these finalists are submitted to a national panel of about 50 sports writers, sportscasters, coaches and former players who vote to determine the winner.

The presentation of Jim Thorpe Award will be featured on The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards live on Thursday, Dec. 9, at 7 p.m. ET on ESPN.  The show, hosted by ESPN’s Chris Fowler, Lee Corso and Kirk Herbstreit will feature the live presentation of nine player awards, along with the recipients of Disney’s Spirit Award; The Home Depot Coach of the Year Award, the NCFAA (National College Football Awards Association) Contributions to College Football Award; and student-athletes selected to the Walter Camp All-America Team.  Fans can visit the show’s dedicated Web site at to find the latest college football awards news, including show details, previous winners, fan voting, a photo gallery and video highlights.

Each week, Phil Steele will be overlooking the candidates issued by the school, the conference and distinguished committee members. After including his own personal input, the winner will be announced every Thursday at and

Past Winners
1986 Thomas Everett Baylor
1987 Bennie Blades Miami (Fl)
1987 Rickey Dixon Oklahoma
1988 Deion Sanders Florida St
1989 Mark Carrier USC
1990 Darryll Lewis Arizona
1991 Terrell Buckley Florida St
1992 Deon Figures Colorado
1993 Antonio Langham Alabama
1994 Chris Hudson Colorado
1995 Greg Meyers Colorado St
1996 Lawrence Wright Florida
1997 Charles Woodson Michigan
1998 Antoine Winfield Ohio St
1999 Tyrone Carter Minnesota
2000 Jamar Fletcher Wisconsin
2001 Roy Williams Oklahoma
2002 Terence Newman Kansas St

2003 Derrick Strait Oklahoma
2004 Carlos Rogers Auburn
2005 Michael Huff Texas
2006 Aaron Ross Texas
2007 Antoine Cason Arizona
2008 Malcolm Jenkins Ohio St
2009 Eric Berry Tennessee
2010 Patrick Peterson, LSU
2011 Morris Claiborne, LSU
2012 Johnthan Banks,  Miss St
2013 Darqueze Dennard, Michigan St