John Mackey Award
                                   Phil Steele is very proud to be a participant on the
                                  voting committee for the John Mackey Award.

Jerell Adams, South Carolina David Grinnage, N.C. State Johnny Mundt, Oregon
Jake Butt, Michigan Darion Griswold, Arkansas State Joshua Perkins, Washington
Kyle Carter, Penn State Hunter Henry, Arkansas Jake Phillips, UNLV
Kivon Cartwright, Colorado State Tyler Higbee, Western Kentucky Josiah Price, Michigan State
Jalen Cope-Fitzpatrick, USC Bucky Hodges, Virginia Tech Sean Price, USF
Alan Cross, Memphis J.P. Holtz, Pittsburgh Steven Scheu, Vanderbilt
Braxton Deaver, Duke Austin Hooper, Stanford Cam Serigne, Wake Forest
Jake Duzey, Iowa O.J. Howard, Alabama Jonnu Smith, FIU
Evan Engram, Ole Miss Jordan Leggett, Clemson Nick Vannett, Ohio State
Billy Freeman, San Jose State Ryan Malleck, Virginia Tech Steven Walker, Colorado State
Jarred Gipson, Nevada Jake McGee, Florida Bryce Williams, East Carolina

The John Mackey Award,
established in 2001,
is awarded annually
to the most outstanding
Tight End in Division I-A
college football.
In addition to demonstrating
outstanding athletic prowess on the field, the award also stands for positive
sportsmanship-like behavior, good academic standing & exceptional leadership abilities.
2014 John Mackey Award Winner

The Nassau County Sports
Commission has announced the

2014 John Mackey Award Winner:

Nick O'Leary, Florida St

2014 John Mackey Award Finalists:

Clive Walford OF Miami (Fl)
Maxx Williams OF Minnesota

Pictured to Left: 2014 Mackey Winner Nick O'Leary with
Sylvia Mackey

John Mackey, a native of Roosevelt, NY, was only the second player who was strictly a tight end to be inducted into the National Football League Hall of Fame and is regarded as one of the all-time greats to ever have played that position. Mackey played in the National Football League for 10 years, was elected to the Pro Bowl five times, was a three-time All-NFL Player, was named to the

NFL’s All-Decade Team and to the league’s 50th Anniversary squad. He also played in two NFL Championship games and two Super Bowls, including the victorious Baltimore Colts in Super Bowl V where he caught a pivotal 76 yd TD from Unitas.

During his playing days, the 6-2 225 lb John “Mack Truck” Mackey was known for his tremendous speed and power. His courageous leadership on the field led him into power as President of the NFL Players Association and subsequent improvements in players free agency rights, pension benefits and injury protection programs now enjoyed by all NFL players. Prior to his remarkable NFL career and ground breaking work with the NFLPA, Mackey had attended the alma mater of boyhood idol and fellow Nassau County native Jim Brown at Syracuse.

Throughout his career Mackey has vigorously supported many organizations and has served on the Board of Advisors to the Leukemia Society of America, the Syracuse University Business School and the Board of Directors for the Syracuse University Alumni Association. He has also been Chairman of the Board of Advisors of the Community for Education Foundation and its “Overcoming Obstacles” program.


The Nassau County Sports Commission is an organization where every dollar raised is another child, senior citizen, or differently-abled athlete experiencing the thrill of sports and competition. Contributions to the NCSC will enrich the quality of life for Nassau County residents, enhance the economy, and aid in the development of events, programs, and facilities.

The non-governmental, non-profit NCSC is dedicated to “improving lives through sports” and operates the “Let’s Do It!” children’s sports programs. Since its inception in 1992, the NCSC had quietly accomplished many of its original mission objectives, establishing exceptional participatory and educational youth sports programs, partnering with County government to enhance sports facilities and attract sporting events and organizations to the heart of Long Island, Nassau County. The Commission has quietly built an impressive track record of success in providing sports programming and attracting sporting events and businesses to Nassau County.

The Commission has set ambitious goals for the future. These goals involve the advancement of youth, amateur and professional sports from the grassroots to the elite level; the development and dissemination of brochures, such as “How Sports Can Combat Childhood Obesity” for elementary school students and the “Perils of Performance Enhancing Drugs” for middle and high school students; the organization of more conferences, workshops and clinics; the implementation of new initiatives; bringing new sports events and businesses to the County; and most importantly, the expansion of our youth programs to serve a broader spectrum of the community and a greater number of children.

2013 Austin Seferian-Jenkins • Washington Selected 38th by the Buc's in '14
2012 Tyler Eifert • Notre Dame •
Selected 21st by the Bengals in '13
2011 Dwayne Allen • Clemson •
Selected 64th overall by the Colts in '12 NFL Draft
2010 DJ Williams • Arkansas •
Selected 141st overall by the Packers in '11 NFL Draft
2009 Aaron Hernandez • Florida •
Selected 113th overall by the Patriots in '10 NFL Draft
2008 Chase Coffman • Missouri
• Selected 98th overall by the Bengals in '09 NFL Draft
2007 FRED DAVIS • USC • Selected 48th overall by Redskins in the ‘08 NFL Draft
2006 MATT SPAETH • Minnesota Selected 77th overall by Steelers in ‘07 NFL Draft
2005 MARCEDES LEWIS • UCLA • Selected 28th overall by Jaguars in ‘06 NFL Draft
2004  HEATH MILLER • Virginia • Selected 30th overall by Steelers in ‘05 NFL Draft
2003  KELLEN WINSLOW II - Miami, FL • Selected 6th overall by Browns in ‘04 NFL Draft
2002  DALLAS CLARK • Iowa • Selected 24th overall by Colts in ‘03 NFL Draft
2001 DANIEL GRAHAM •Colorado Selected 21st overall by Patriots in ‘02 NFL Draft
2000 TIM STRATTON - Purdue