Davey O'Brien National Quaterback Award
Phil Steele is very proud to be a participant on the voting
committee for the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award.
Trevone Boykin, TCU Kevin Hogan, Stanford Paxton Lynch, Memphis
Connor Cook, Michigan State Jeremy Johnson, Auburn Dak Prescott, Mississippi State
Joshua Dobbs, Tennessee Cardale Jones, Ohio State Keenan Reynolds, Navy
Brandon Doughty, Western Kentucky Brad Kaaya, Miami Anu Solomon, Arizona
Blake Frohnapfel, Massachusetts Chuckie Keeton, Utah State Zach Terrell, Western Michigan
Jared Goff, California Cody Kessler, USC Justin Thomas, Georgia Tech
Christian Hackenberg, Penn State Gunner Kiel, Cincinnati Deshaun Watson, Clemson
Taysom Hill, BYU Fredi Knighten, Arkansas State Marquise Williams, North Carolina

2014 Davey O'Brien Winner:
Marcus MAriota, Oregon



Trevone Boykin, TCU
Dak Prescott, Mississippi St


The Davey O’Brien Foundation believes that leadership on the football field is a powerful force that inspires leadership in the other areas of life. Davey O’Brien translated his prowess as a high school, college and professional quarterback into a life of service and success. In his honor and memory, the Foundation recognizes champions on the field through its national awards program and encourages promising athletes’ academic and career success through scholarships and support.

The Foundation believes that the teamwork and camaraderie of athletics build character and leadership. Its programs encourage those qualities in honor of a man who was a true leader on and off the field. The award recipients exemplify O’Brien’s enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship, leadership and character in both the athletic and academic arenas.


To honor the nation’s best college quarterback of the year and inspire student-athletes to triumph both on and off the field.

• What began in 1977 as the Davey O’Brien Memorial Trophy, awarded to the best player in the Southwest region, was expanded in scope and limited to the quarterback position in 1981, becoming the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award®.

• The Davey O’Brien is awarded to the nation’s best collegiate quarterback, evaluating each candidate on the criteria of quarterback skills/athletic ability, academics, reputation as a team player, character, leadership and sportsmanship.


• The award honors the legacy of Davey O’Brien, the first player ever to win the Heisman, Maxwell and Walter Camp trophies in the same year, while leading TCU to one of their two National Championships.

• The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award is overseen by the Davey O’Brien Foundation, which is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas, and provides scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life.

• Finalists must exemplify Davey O’Brien’s enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship, leadership and character in both the athletic and academic arenas.

• Throughout the season, quarterbacks are voted upon by a Selection Committee comprised of prestigious journalists and previous winners.

• The watch list is refined into semi-finalists and finalists before the Davey O’Brien winner is announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show on ESPN in December.

• 2007 marked the inaugural year for the inclusion of the Fan Vote. Fans will have the ability to vote for their favorite quarterback throughout the season, and unlike any other award in college football, their vote will count as 5% during each round.

1977 Earl Campbell, Texas
1978 Billy Sims, Oklahoma
1979 Mike Singletary, Baylor
1980 Mike Singletary, Baylor
1981 Jim McMahon, BYU
1982 Todd Blackledge, Penn State
1983 Steve Young, BYU
1984 Doug Flutie, Boston College
1985 Chuck Long, Iowa
1986 Vinny Testaverde, Miami
1987 Don McPherson, Syracuse
1988 Troy Aikman, UCLA
1989 Andre Ware, Houston
1990 Ty Detmer, BYU
1991 Ty Detmer, BYU
1992 Gino Torretta, Miami
1993 Charlie Ward, Florida St
1994 Kerry Collins, Penn State
1995 Danny Wuerffel, Florida
1996 Danny Wuerffel, Florida
1997 Peyton Manning, Tennessee
1998 Michael Bishop, Kansas St
1999 Joe Hamilton, Georgia Tech
2000 Chris Weinke, Florida St

2001 Eric Crouch, Nebraska
2002 Brad Banks, Iowa
2003 Jason White, Oklahoma
2004 Jason White, Oklahoma
2005 Vince Young, Texas
2006 Troy Smith, Ohio State
2007 Tim Tebow, Florida
2008 Sam Bradford, Oklahoma
2009 Colt McCoy, Texas
2010 Cam Newton, Auburn
2011 Robert Griffin III, Baylor
2012 Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M
2013 Jameis Winston, Florida St